Confederacy of Allied Republics: Blackwater

May 2, 2018

The lands of men are governed by the Confederacy of Allied Republics. Today's spotlight is on Blackwater.


Good Afternoon Gentlemen, Ladies and Sentient Creatures,

Today we are going to take another quick look at one of the 13 Republics, Blackwater.

Republic Name: Blackwater

Capital City: Newcastle-upon-Blackwater

Cities of Note: Gateshead, Salford

Major Commerce: Shipping

Minor Commerce: Chemicals, Fishing

Description: Blackwater is the only Republic that spans the two continents of Lerna and Calydon. The capital city of Newcastle-upon-Blackwater is built on both ends of the Blackwater strait, that connects the Blackwater Sea to the Western Ocean. The Greystone Bridge is one of the greatest achievements of ancient Imperial engineering, and it is what has allowed Blackwater to grow rich on tolls both overland and via the sea. All mercantile sea traffic from the west must pass through the Blackwater Sea in order to reach the Eastern Ocean. Goods traveling to and from the Elven and Dwarven settlements via land from the western Republics must also pass through the Greystone Bridge. As the Republic occupies the land directly east and west of the strait for several hundred miles they have grown rich on the tolls and levies, as well as offering their shipping and ferry services. This has garnered humans from Blackwater a tarnished reputation among the Vand Nisse and Vuono Dur, as well as other humans from Occitaine, Kuanas and the western Barlethans.


© Aurum 2019       Design and development by Kamil Kantyka